Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Bananaketchup

 

South Street – Philadelphia, PA

philly21
Oozing with 50’s old-timey cafe goodness, complete with shiny autographed celebrity pics on the walls, Jim’s fits in perfectly with the lively Crayola crayon box vibe of South Street. You just know you’re in the City of Brotherly Love the moment you step in and smell the sizzling meat and hear the clanking duel of spatula versus griddle.

philly20Dear foodies,

I have a tiny confession to make… I’m a Philly cheesesteak virgin, and there was something extra exciting ordering something so iconic and watching the sinful concoction lustfully conceived right before my innocent eyes. It was like being in a steamy motel room with the head cheerleader I never dated, after the prom night I never had.
Sincerely,
Bananaketchup

Hands down, my cheesesteak with onions and cheese wiz was better than any steak sandwich I’ve had in the DC Area. The beef was tender, juicy, and flavorful. The bread was toasty, crusty, and sopped the juices of its meaty companion beautifully. My only nit-picky complaint? They seemed to skimp on the cheese wiz, so ordering extra wiz is highly recommended. When it comes to melty satisfaction, there really is no such thing as too much of a good thing.

philly16True, the Food Network preaches a very loud, almost annoying Billy Mays-esque gospel according to Geno’s, Pat’s, and Tony Luke’s, but I really don’t think you can go too wrong when it comes to most cheesesteak places in Philly. Hey, if Jim’s Steaks is good enough for The Jets, it’s more than good enough for me. Yeah, my innocence has been shed, and I’m no longer embarrased to admit: I have a crush…on Philly cheesesteaks.

Tags: , , , , , ,

