Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Tondagossa

 

Beale Street – Memphis, TN

Ah, sweet Memphis.  One day simply was not enough time to spend there.  Would three nights have satisfied the itch I had for exploring the iconic Beale Street?  So many great restaurants and flavors, so much history, and so much music.  Surrounded by all the wonderful sights and sounds, I felt something more.  Fate brought me there.  And she told me that it was finally my time to have authentic Memphis-style ribs.

So upon settling in, I asked the very helpful lady at the front desk where to get some great eats.  I made it clear that I wanted to get the best ribs in town.  She quickly pointed me to Blues City Cafe.  Turns out it’s a very well known restaurant which has served the likes of Conan O’Brien, Samuel L. Jackson, and even former President Clinton.  Of course, I didn’t know all of that until much later.  Fate was calling louder to me and my stomach was starting to join in.  They were now nudging at me with an urgency.  So I set my sails for Second and Beale, right across from B.B. King’s Blues Club.

When I finally arrived, I noticed the interior of the restaurant has an area with table seating and a separate bar area.  I was offered a seat at the bar area since college games were on.  I didn’t mind at all since I came alone and, though it may sound funny, I kind of like the ambiance of it in a town like Memphis on a street like Beale.  I ordered the half-rack of ribs which came with a side of fries, coleslaw, beans, and Texas toast.  The fries were on the average side, mainly there as a filler – slightly crunchy and salty… what can I say?  They were average fries.  Nothing spectacular.  The coleslaw, beans and Texas toast were even less spectacular.  So that would make them… okay but forgettable?  However, the Killian’s Irish Red was quite refreshing.  Thank you, Mr. Bartender.

Oh, but wait… I haven’t talked about the ribs.  Oh, sweet mama, the ribs.  Need I say more?  The first thing I noticed was they weren’t completely “slathered” in thick sauce – a pleasant plus in my books.  According to the menu, they use a special “maple barbecue sauce” to baste it, though the ribs are hickory smoked.  These bad boys fell off the bone once I started poking at them, so they were making a great impression on me from the start.  The flavor penetrated all the way to the bone – 2nd impression great as well.  These were definitely one of the, if not the, best ribs I’ve ever had.  Simple, flavorful, juicy and delicious.

What kind of ribs do you prefer?  Wet or dry?  Both… or just Killian’s?  Do you have a favorite rib joint?

Stay tuned for (gasp!) Part 2!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

