Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Bananaketchup

 

There are tons of dishes I remember my parent’s cooking all of the time when I was growing up that I took for granted as a kid, and really miss now. Baked bluefish, Filipino spaghetti with cut-up hot dogs, chicken curry…the list goes on and on. So my latest food experiment was cooking beefsteak (marinated beef with onions), just like mom use to make. img_0512

I kinda ad-libbed my quickly googled marinade recipe, to account for a couple extra pounds of beef. It was pretty much just soy sauce, lemon juice, pepper, garlic, chili pepper flakes, hot sauce, salad oil, and some sugar. I couldn’t remember if I was supposed to cut against the grain of the steak, or with the grain, so I just did half and half, trying my best to slice the beef into shapes that vaguely resembled strips of meat. Yadda, yadda, yadda, into the marinade the beef went to get happy together in the fridge overnight.

Cooking had more improv work the next night, as I simmered the beef for a few minutes, and then gave it a second go in the pan to get a nice seared char, since the meat let out alot of liquid from the marinade. Add a few sliced onions during the last few minutes of cooking, serve with rice, and smile…or not.

img_0514I’m not gonna win any beefsteak throwdowns anytime soon, and I wouldn’t be able to fool anybody in a blind taste test. My dish wasn’t bad, but the flavor was pretty mellow compared to my mom’s, and it just wasn’t as tasty. My beefsteak lacked the salty, tangy goodness, and would easily pass as a bland, frozen Weight-Watcher’s beef teriyaki microwave meal, which isn’t a good thing. Oh well, maybe next time I’ll marinade the beef longer, and not use as much artistic license with the recipe. The secret ingredient is really “love”, isn’t it?

Tags: , ,

