Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

Pssst…hey…can you keep another secret? Ever since I was told an old superstition that I wouldn’t live a long life unless I ate a big bowl of noodles on my birthday, I’ve been obsessed with noodles.

by Bananaketchup

 

Pssst…hey…can you keep another secret? Ever since I was told an old superstition that I wouldn’t live a long life unless I ate a big bowl of noodles on my birthday, I’ve been obsessed with noodles. img_0517

Pancit is the quintessential noodle dish found at just about every Filipino party. There’s more than a dozen variations of the dish, and my personal favorite is pancit palabok, which is rice noodles smothered in a gravy consisting of annatto seeds and shrimp. It’s usually served with a melody of interesting garnishes including shrimp, crushed pork rinds, hard-boiled eggs, smoked fish flakes, squid, fried garlic, green onion, and calamansi.

So what’s a guy to do to satisfy his palabok cravings? Lucky for me we’ve come a long long way from when my grandma use to crush shrimp with a stone mortar and pestle to make the sauce. With a quick fieldtrip to the local Asian grocery store, you’ll find the by-products of modern Filipino cooking – instant sauces, marinades, and Mama Sita’s Palabok Oriental Gravy Mix.

The prep is simple: 1. Dissolve the powder in water, 2. Saute some garlic in oil, 3. Add the gravy mixture to the oil and bring to a healthy boil until the sauce is thick. From there, it’s just a matter of combining the sauce with some cooked rice noodles and adding the army of various toppings to your liking. Easy, breezy, beautiful.

IMG_0523The taste of this instantized pancit palabok is pretty close to the authentic homemade version — tasty, salty, seafoody, savory goodness. It’s like there’s a Filipino party in my mouth and everyone’s invited!

Whether or not a big bowl of birthday noodles is the secret to Highlander levels of immortality, this palabok mix is just the thing to get any party started right, and get any party started quickly, riiiight.

So what’s everybody’s favorite noodle dish? Are you a slurper or twirler?

Tags: , , , , ,

