Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Tondagossa

 

Regional Food and Drink (RFD)
810 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001


Last year during a visit to the MD/DC Metro area, I was told by a friend of mine that a bar around here was known for its wide selection of over 1000 beers.  I knew I had to visit this place as soon as I could.  The Brickskeller, located in the Northwest DC area, was a quaint little below-street-level bar which offers brews from around the world, as well as local drinks.  It was a nice place to hang out with my friends, have some nice conversation, and try drinks I may or may not have heard of before.

During my visit to Brickskeller, my friends mentioned another place to me, namely RFD (or Regional Food and Drink).  Created by the owners of Brickskeller, RFD is located in DC’s Chinatown and, just like its sister location, boasts a grand variety of drinks.  Distinguishing it from Brickskeller however are the theme, which is more on the modern side, and the stronger emphasis on food.  I wouldn’t necessarily pick one location over the other, but I will say if you don’t mind a louder atmosphere and you’re in the mood for some eats, go with RFD.

That’s where part of RFD’s strength lies – its selection of good grub.  Not only do they serve beer,  among cider and mixed drinks, but they also use beer to create some of their menu items.  I’m not talking only brats marinated in Kostritzer Black Lager and Rogue Dead Guy Ale-battered fish n’ chips, though those are great in their own right.  They also offer mussels steamed in Hoegaarden Witbier, French onion soup cooked with Ayinger Dopplebock, and strip steak marinated in Sam Smith Taddy Porter, just to name a few.  Not only that, but they also use beer as an ingredient for some of their desserts!  “Desserts?!”, you say?  I’m sure I tickled your imagination with that one.  They offer items like the “Bieramisu”, the fudge stout brownie, and even a stout float.  You just know these guys love their beer.

A couple of nights ago, I had the opportunity to try the chicken sliders and the beer brat.  The chicken sliders were very tender, with a slight crunchiness on the breading.  Very good stuff, very simple – not too salty or overseasoned at all.  They each had just a touch of mayo and nice appropriately-sized sesame buns.  Served with crunchy, perfectly cooked fries, the sliders went really well with the beer I was drinking.  The beer brat was another story altogether – incredibly moist and tender, unlike any brats I’ve had before – juicy with slightly mellow flavor.  I almost want to say the inside of the brat had the consistency of vienna sausages, but it wasn’t quite as mushy.  It really did hit the spot, especially since it was accompanied by the same type of fries that came with the sliders.  My only concern with the beer brat was that I, unfortunately, forgot to ask for sauerkraut on top.  Maybe next time.

Stay tuned for part 2 – actually talking about the beer!  Stay thirsty, mi compadres.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

