Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Tondagossa

 

I remember this one time when I was with my friends last year, sitting around discussing crazy bacon-flavored food products.  How did we start talking about that?  No clue.  Among the things that came up during our conversation was bacon salt.  Up until that point, I never heard of such a thing.  And never would I have thought a time would come when this strange seasoning and I would ever cross paths.  Just two desperadoes meeting at high noon to finally settle the score.  It must have been destined to be.  True story.

From the company that produced such hits as Bacon Pop, we have another curiosity- J & D’s Bacon Salt.  It’s a smoky, salty, bacon-flavored seasoning that successfully achieves what it sets out to do: make other things taste a bit like bacon.  I’ve tested it on a few things like peanuts, eggs, and chicken.  Of course, I even tried it by itself just for comparison.  Aside from the smoky natural bacon flavor, paprika and garlic seem the most noticeable out of all the ingredients.  For the most part texture-wise, it’s a bit powdery with larger red chunks of something (my guess: smoke/bacon flavorings, or faerie tears).  I can see how it can be used in place of regular salt, or even other seasoning salts.

And that’s basically what this is – another type of seasoning salt, ready to be called to action when you want throw a changeup at any meal.  I have yet to try it on things like steak or fries.  But I have a really good feeling that it will fit right in with those big leaguers.  Can’t wait to try it in my cooking.  The best part is that, according to the website, it’s “a zero calorie, zero fat, vegetarian and kosher seasoning”.  Less restrictions on who can play The Bacon Game?  Well, that’s just fine in my book.

Tags: , , , , ,

