Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Bananaketchup

 

Oh harsh cold mistress that is Washington, DC. We need to go on a break. You’ve always been there for me through the good times and bad times, but I need to escape into the warm, open arms of the south. New Orleans here I come.

Cafe Du Monde

Known for its beignets and coffee, Café Du Monde has been a cornerstone in New Orleans since 1862. I won’t hide anything. Beignets aren’t just French donuts. They’re funnel cake on steroids. Crispy on the outside, soft & chewy in the inside — you’ll be completely drenched in powdered sugar afterwards and you’ll probably like it.

To wash down your sugary pillows of happiness, there’s the Café Au Lait; a blend of coffee, chicory and milk. I’m more of a tea drinker, but this was the best cup of coffee I’ve had in a while. And the frozen version is better than any triple-mocha-sowcow Frap from Starbucks.

Café Du Monde is a little pricey, but it’s a must-try for anyone visiting the French Quarter. It was my breakfast for 2 days in a row and I can probably eat it for breakfast every day. Who needs donuts & coffee?

Gator Me Crazy

For lunch I tried a place featured on the Food Channel for its unique, not-so-reptile-friendly menu, Gator Me Crazy.

One of the dishes that can’t be found anywhere else is the Swamp Rolls. Like a Creole mad scientist, these were invented in-house by the restaurant’s owner. They’re a mix of cheese, alligator meat, and a spicy sauce, all wrapped in an eggroll wrapper. It’s an interesting combination of flavors, kinda like a mini deep-fried Chipotle burrito. Swamp rolls are delicious, but the cheese definitely overpowered any taste of alligator to oblivion.

The fried gator po’boy wasn’t anything special. It was good, but the portions were skimpy and the breading on the meat, along with the remoulade, masked the flavor of the alligator. Eating the chunks of alligator by themselves, the taste and texture is somewhere between chicken and pork.

I’d go back to Gator Me Crazy to try the grilled gator on a stick, but there are also other options around the French Market if you get a case of the alligator shakes.

The Gumbo Shop

Based on local recommendations, and my fondness of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, I had to try the turtle soup at The Gumbo Shop for dinner. It was flavorful, with a nice blend of spices, and a seafoody, tomato-based broth. It was like refreshing clam bisque with more turtle power.

I haven’t had much New Orleans cuisine, but the crawfish etouffee here is the best Cajun/Creole food I’ve ever tasted. It was spicy with just a hint of sweetness, and there were big chunks of crawfish in every bite. This is perfect hangover food after a long night of dancing with random robot men on Bourbon Street.

From the amazing food to the jazz music to the friendly locals, I really loved hanging out in New Orleans. It’s a fun city that has an authenticity and spirit of it’s own that I haven’t felt anywhere else. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to roll around in a bed of powdered sugar. Sorry…beignets withdrawal…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

