Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

by Bananaketchup

 

15192 D, Fredrick Road
Rockville, MD 20850

Perhaps I’m a bit crazy for wanting frosty bubble tea during these bleak winter months. Nevertheless, the bitter winds won’t stop me from heading out into the cold to satisfy my masochistic cravings. And so I stumbled upon Jumbo Jumbo Café – Asia Taste, thinking: “It must be damn good here, because it repeats itself for extra emphasis…extra emphasis…” I originally planned to get bubble tea and bubble tea only. Of course, I ended up getting an order of Taiwanese chicken to give my lonely cup of bubble tea some company.

The Taiwanese chicken is served street-food style — in a paper bag with a long skewer to use as a utensil and/or World of Warcraft LARP weapon. From a glance, it looked like ordinary chunks of boneless popcorn chicken, but the surprising taste quickly dismissed my doubts. It’s crunchy, juicy, sweet, spicy, salty, and has very distinct Asiany flavors. The basic ingredients are chili, white pepper, and basil, but there was a little kick of something added (MSG?) that made the chicken extra tasty. It was like my tastebuds looked under their chairs and received a shiny new gift from Oprah. Some people say there’s too much breading; I found the meat-to-breading ratio to be just fine. The only downside for me is that the saltiness restrains me from eating tons of the chicken. It really makes you wanna drink more and more bubble tea.

Oh, and speaking of drinks with gelatinous globs of tapioca pearls, the taro bubble tea I had was your standard cup of good bubble tea. Not too sweet, smooth finish, undertones of taro, and the tapioca pearls weren’t too firm or mushy. Nothing home to write about, but seeing as this was the initial focus of the night, my bubble tea-obtaining goals were accomplished enough to warrant a gold star on my report card.

Lessons learned today: 1) Always wear long-johns when going out for a wintery stroll/bubble tea run, and 2) Taiwanese chicken and bubble tea make an awesome snack combo (perfect for a wintery stroll/bubble tea run) that I’ll be enjoying forever. Foreva-eva? Foreva-eva.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

