Skip to content

Late Nite Adobo

Typing out thoughts on a website… when the cravings hit you in the late nite…

Feeling lethargic? Need a pick-me-up to lift you out of the afternoon dulldrums?  Coffee is boooooriiing. 5 hour energy? Bleh! Redbull & vodka? Blargh! Since Energon cubes are hard to come by these days, this chia kombucha drink may be the next best thing! 

Synergy Organic & Raw Kombucha Cherry Chia Drink is a blend of kombucha (a mixture of live bacteria and yeast), and chia seeds, which I first heard about in Born to Run. In the book, Christopher McDougall talks about the Tarahumara tribe of Mexico, and how they drank a chia seed concoction to help fuel their long runs. So, much like the Wonder Twins, this kombucha/chia drink has a healthy combo of probiotics, fiber, antioxidants, and omega-3s.

One fun fact on the label is a disclaimer stating: “Due to the natural fermentation, this product may contain a trace amount of alcohol.” With that in mind, the drink has a faintly tart scent that really does remind me of a very light red wine. The thick, viscous texture on the other hand, is similar to aloe drinks or tapioca pudding. I wouldn’t say it goes down smooth — Slimy would be more accurate. It’s like drinking melted jello shooters with the added bonus of giving your mouth a tingly sensation, like a fizzy, carbonated drink. Slimy yet satisfying.

If you’re ever wondering how Juicy Juice might taste like after leaving it next to the radiator for 17 months, you’ve come to the right place. It has a slightly fermented cherry taste with a hint of sweetness. At first it’s disgusting and downright icky, but it became addicting — in a teenager discovering alcohol sorta way. I wouldn’t drink it every day, but I might every now and then…whenever I wanna pretend I’m Peter Venkman getting slimed by a ghost.

Did the drink give me more energy? Surprisingly, there was a spark during my evening run…which I contribute 100% to the idea of the red slime in my belly, giving me a +25 boost against fatigue.  I call him Slimer. He gurgles and I laugh. We’re BFFs now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

